top of page

Weddings - Friends?

I have a lot of people ask me the same question, "should I ask my friend to photograph my wedding or should I book a photographer?" And only you can make that decision, but don't forget to think about some of the most important points, such as, has your friend got experience shooting weddings? If they have, and you love their work then GREAT! Go for it! But if they haven't, do you really want to put yourself in the position where you could possibly be unhappy with the results and have to chat to your friend about this afterwards? (awkward)!

Sometimes we think our friends are the best option because we already know them, get along with them etc and most of all trust them. Another important thing to remember - do you want your friend to take the day seriously and professionally, or do you want them to also enjoy the day?

I have been asked to photograph a few "friend" weddings in the past and have politely declined, reasons are -

1. Truthfully, it's nice to be a guest for once! And to relax and enjoy, most of all celebrate.

2. If they were ever unhappy for some reason, I wouldn't want to lose a friend over this.

3. Even though I'm their friend, doesn't mean I'm the right photographer for them.

Everyone has different shooting styles, editing styles, different personalities and it's important that you find the right photographer for your special day!

Make sure you spend the time looking for who's right for you, for your style, for your personality, and someone you know will stay relaxed and calm throughout your day. It's important that you enjoy your day without any stress or worries - its your big day! ENJOY IT! :)

Shauna xx


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page